Motivated to get Moving


I hit a wall, then jumped over it
April 26, 2010, 11:28 am
Filed under: Running

I said I was going to try to post on a regular basis and I haven’t posted since then, not sure what to say about that.  I have written tons of blog posts in my head and have ideas for several others, I just can’t seem to get them from my head to the computer which is crazy because I am on the computer all the time.  Oh well enough with the excuses, let’s hit the gym.

Friday I was at the gym, it was a running day for me.  Following the C25K program it was supposed to be a 25 minute run.  I was scared but thought I would be okay, afterall I ran for the 20 minutes the other day.  What’s 5 more?  Well, it didn’t happen.  I hit a wall.  I don’t even think I ran for 5 minutes let alone 25.  My allergies had been bothering me, I spent all day Thursday in bed.  I had no idea taking that one day off would reak the havoc on my body that it did.  Running just wasn’t an option, I pushed myself to hit the 5 minute mark and every one of those 300 seconds was torture.  I completed the 5K loop on the treadmill at a decent walking pace and got off feeling a little defeated, I want to be a runner!

Fast forward to Sunday, I got to the gym with the attitude I was running for 25 minutes if it killed me.  I didn’t care how fast I was running, I just wanted to prove to myself I could do it.  Well guess what?  I DID IT!!  I ran for 25 minutes!!  It was 1.62 miles.  I was so excited I literally started to cry on the treadmill.  I sent my friend Lori a BBM and said ” I just ran 1.62 miles and am excited because that is almost 2. I feel like I am living your blog post!” Who would have thought I would be running 2 miles at a time?  Not me!!  The C25K program is great, it really got me moving and made a runner out of me.  However, I am going to jump off that ship for a little while.

Lori has been an amazing inspiration and motivation to me. She told me if you can run for 25 minutes, you can run for 28, that’s just how the body is. If you can run 1.63 miles you can run 2. This week’s goal is to hit the 2 mile mark! I am going to find a pace I like and am comfortable with and just run with it, literally. If I can hit 1.63 miles in 25 minutes, I should be able to hit 2 miles in a little less than 31 minutes. Lori thinks I will be running 3 miles in the next 2 weeks, I am not sure about that but I do know I will be hitting that 2 mile mark sooner instead of later!

I am sure you will all know when I hit that 2 mile mark and not because you read it on my blog but because you heard me screaming with excitement, that is once I have wiped away the tears of joy.

Until next time, don’t forget to ask yourself  “what have I done to make me feel proud.”


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So glad you started the C25K with me! Even better that you love it! YOU GOT THIS!

Comment by Kim

We are all born to run we just don’t use it. Stay with it, and running will take you place’s! Trust me!

Comment by ultrarunnerbrianphilpot

Way to go girl! You’re amazing!!

Can’t wait to hear about you hitting 2miles!

Comment by Brooke

My sweet Kelly! You give me way too much credit. YOU are doing this. YOU are making it happen. YOU are believing in YOU. I love it when people start living their dreams. You ARE a runner. No one starts by just jumping out of the bed and running a zillion miles. It’s like learning to walk but it can be done. I’m so looking forward to the day when we meet and can run together. xxoo Lori

Comment by slorunnermom

Woo hoo! What a great post Kelly! I am excited for you – you are doing amazing. I couldn’t believe it when I heard that you skipped a week! Congrats on your run this weekend, I agree with Lori – you will be at 3 miles in no time! So glad we are all in this running thing together. It is good shit! xoxo

Comment by Kat

Way to move past the not so great running day and take off!! I am not a runner, but I’m sure with the wonderful group of runners in our circle you be adding mileage in no time!! Way to go on that 1.63!!

Comment by Terri




Leave a comment